Skip to content ↓

Post 16

Lower and Upper Evergreens - Nancealverne Sixth Form 

At Nancealverne Sixth Form the development of the curriculum for young people is different from the experiences they will have had in the lower Key Stages of the school. This is very purposeful, as we recognise that making decisions and choices about their future adult life is a key element of the education for young people.

The Sixth Form provision is divided into a Lower and an Upper Sixth Form group base ('The Evergreens'), and provides support for young people from Year 10-Year 14 in these groupings.

All those in the Sixth Form will be offered a tailored programme of skills development that focuses on their further educational aspirations and work experience opportunities, whilst addressing their social and emotional needs at a significant time of change when they may be finding it extremely difficult to conceptualise or plan for their future. 

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

Upper Sixth Pathways

Nancealverne recognises that not all young people will follow the same journey throughout their time in the school. This is also very relevant for those young people entering the Sixth Form provision – and as such, a pathways approach to learning is in place to help identify the right journey into adulthood for all young people.

There are three core pathways (Developing, Embedding, Enhancing) in place for young people to follow. Everyone has access to the curriculum areas outlined above, but the detail for these young people is very different – making sure they leave the school with the right skills they need to move into their adult life successfully.

However, we also recognise the needs of those young people with high Multi-Sensory needs that may be based in other class settings with the school (such as those in the L2L class base) and who may join the Sixth Form for focused activities and inclusion opportunities. As such, a fourth pathway - Foundation - has been developed for these young people which take into account their key development aims and priorities as they move into adulthood.

  • Pathway 1 - Foundation
  • Pathway 2 - Developing
  • Pathway 3 - Embedding
  • Pathway 4 - Enhancing 

Lower Sixth Pathways

The pathways approach to learning is also introduced to young people as they enter the Sixth Form provision from the end of Key Stage 4 onward.

There are four core pathways in place for young people to follow. Everyone has access to the curriculum areas outlined, but the detail for these young people is also very different and takes into account those young people who are at Key Stage 4 age but working towards the Sixth Form provision.

Young people working within the Lower Sixth Form achieve accredited learning – as opposed to qualifications, which are introduced from Upper Sixth Form age until the end of each young person’s school life.

Students learning at pathway 3 and 4 will develop key functional skills in Maths and English by studying differentiated ASDAN Short Courses in English and Maths. 

Learners will also follow ASDAN short courses to gain experiences in a range of foundation subjects.  This means that we are able to offer a nationally recognised accreditation in wider curriculum areas and key life skills opportunities.

Students learning at Pathway 1 and 2 are offered a child centered approach to learning where skills linked to the preparation for adulthood areas within the EHCP are embedded within the whole learning experience, ensuring that these students are prepared for their next stage. 

Nationally recognised certification in English and Maths is also offered, through the use of the ASDAN 'Towards Independence' course.

All students will also access opportunities linked to work related learning, including individual work experience.